Felony Sentencing Grids
Last Updated: 12/01/23

The defendant must be sentenced under the law that was in effect at the time the defendant committed the felony offense. See State v. Whitehead, 365 N.C. 444 (2012)

The structured sentencing grids set forth below correspond to offenses committed on the following dates:   

  1. On or after October 1, 2013; 
  2. On or after December 1, 2011, but before October 1, 2013; 
  3. On or after December 1, 2009, but before December 1, 2011; 
  4. On or after December 1, 1995, but before December 1, 2009; 
  5. On or after October 1, 1994, but before December 1, 1995; 
  6. Offenses committed on or after July 1, 1981, but before October 1, 1994, are sentenced under a set of prior sentencing laws known as the “Fair Sentencing Act.” For more information about Fair Sentencing, see "Fair Sentencing in a Nutshell," Jamie Markham, NC Criminal Law Blog, July 24, 2014.
You must be logged in to see the PDF associated with this article.
The PDF displayed in this entry is an excerpt from the 2018 North Carolina Sentencing Handbook, by James M. Markham and Shea Riggsbee Denning.